Información en Español →

AFAC grocery services are available to residents of Arlington County every week of the year! During the holiday season, registered AFAC clients receive a holiday hen in addition to the usual groceries.

All AFAC services require a referral, photo ID, and proof of residential address in Arlington.

If you are experiencing food insecurity and would benefit from free weekly grocery services, call the Arlington County Department of Human Services (Sequoia 1) at 703-228-1300 to receive an online AFAC referral and access to other support services.

To view AFAC's weekly grocery menu or learn how to get a referral, click here.

Special Holiday Schedule - Extended Hours for Two Weeks Only:

Food Distribution Schedule at AFAC's Nelson Headquarters
2708 South Nelson Street

Monday, November 14: 9 am - 1:30 pm
Tuesday, November 15: 9 am - 1:30 pm AND 6 - 7 pm
Wednesday, November 16: 9 am - 1:30 pm
Thursday, November 17: 9 am - 1:30 pm AND 6 - 7 pm
Friday, November 18: 9 am - 1:30 pm
Saturday, November 19: 9 - 11 am

Monday, November 21: 9 am - 1:30 pm
Tuesday, November 22: 9 am - 1:30 pm AND 6 - 7 pm
Wednesday, November 23: 9 am - 1:30 pm
Thursday, November 24: CLOSED
Friday, November 25: 9:30 am - 1 pm
Saturday, November 26: 9 - 11 am

AFAC will be closed on Christmas Day observed (Dec 26) and New Years Day observed (Jan 2).

Thanksgiving Turkeys

In addition to the usual groceries, AFAC provides one whole turkey to each pre-registered Arlington family the week before Thanksgiving: November 14 - 19, 2022.

Turkeys are 10 - 12 pounds and are distributed frozen.

Learn how to defrost and prepare a turkey.

*Thanksgiving turkeys are not available for walk-ins without a referral.

Christmas Chickens

In addition to the usual groceries, AFAC provides one whole chicken to each pre-registered Arlington family the week before Christmas: December 19 - 24, 2022.

Whole Chickens are between 5 - 8 pounds and are distributed frozen.

Learn how to defrost and prepare a whole chicken.

*Christmas chickens are not available for walk-ins without a referral.

For more information, call 571-290-6047

A woman in a fuchsia shirt is rearranging frozen turkeys in a cardboard box. Another woman in a black jacket is holding 1 frozen turkey.